Saturday, 5 December 2015

Bayelsa 2015 Governorship Election – Live Updates


The Bayelsa State governorship election holds today, December 5.
The election will be conducted in the eight local government areas of the state.
According to the independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, 20 political parties are fielding candidates in the election.
However, analysts say the contest is between the candidates of two parties, namely the incumbent governor, Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party and a former governor of the state, Timpre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress.
The new governor, the 5th since 1999, will assume office in February 2016.
The oil-rich Bayelsa State has three senatorial districts, five federal constituencies, 24 state constituencies, eight local government areas and 105 Wards.
There are 663,748 registered voters in the state. They are expected to vote in 1,806 Polling Units spread across the local government areas.
The breakdown based on gender distribution shows that men constitute 54 per cent while women make up 46 percent of the voting population.
The occupation distribution includes 250 students, 120,000 fishermen, 80,000 farmers, 70,000 civil servants and 10,000 housewives.
Already, the INEC has accredited 50 observer groups to observe the election out of which 43 are domestic and seven foreign.
PREMIUM TIMES correspondent, Cletus Ukpong is in Bayelsa and would bring live updates of the poll.
Live Blog
Former SSG in Bayelsa State, Gideon Ekeowei arrested by security officers. APC Publicity Secretary in the State, Nathan Egba, confirmed to PREMIUM TIMES that Mr. Ekeowei who is a deputy director-general of the APC campaign organisation was arrested this afternoon during the election. Mr. Egba didn't disclose why the former SSG was arrested. "I am not aware if he has been released or not," he said.
PDP supporters poured into the street in Yenagoa to celebrate their victory at a polling unit in the area.

APC supporters in Yenagoa move into the street to celebrate victory at their polling unit.

Results as announced at Ward 5, Unit 11, Finimamighafi compound, Yenagoa: PDP 86, APC 46.
INEC officials counting votes at Ward 5, Unit 11, Finimamighafi compound, Yenagoa.

Results have started trickling from some polling units.
Results as announced at Ward 4, Unit 11, Agudama, Yenagoa LGA
APC: 115
PDP: 98

Counting of votes begins in some polling units in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa state capital.
Election in Southern Ijaw postponed
The Independent National Electoral Commission and the police have confirmed that election in some places in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area has been postponed due to the late take off of the exercise in the area.
INEC Director of Voters Education and Publicity, Oluwole Osaze-Uzzi and Police Commissioner, Operations, David Folawiyo, confirmed the postponement while speaking on a programme on the Nigeria Television Authority.
Mr. Folawiyo said, “We got word from Bayelsa that polling officials and electoral officials have met and have taken decision to continue tomorrow in such places where there was violence so that they don’t go far into the night or enter in the night. The decision was taken by electoral official not the police.”
Timi Alaibe has denied decamping to PDP. He also denied sending bulk text messages asking people to vote for the PDP. He alleges his phone number was cloned.
The Police has dismissed media reports that four persons were killed in Southern Ijaw. "No death has been recorded so far," the spokesperson of Police in Bayelsa state told PREMIUM TIMES. "We only have one person who was wounded in the area and we have made arrests."
Violence reported in Brass LGA. A house belonging to acting chairman of PDP in Bayelsa have been burnt down, reports say.
A TMG report indicating that no polling unit opened for commencement of election in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area of Bayelsa State.

15 more thugs arrested by the police and the JTF in Southern Ijaw Local

Pilih Sistem Komentar Yang Anda Sukai

No comments

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed in comments are those of the comment 💬📝writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of CLICKNAIJ Blog🚯